top of page

Religion in the Kinship Thrones

A large portion of the Kinship Thrones worships either the Nine Gods of Light (known simply as the Nine) or Varos. I won't go into other religions here. 

Both believe the Nine are in war against the Seventeen Gods of Sin.

The Nine Gods of Light

Aurum: The God of Dawn

Aurum is associated with hope and returning light, often invoked when the situation seems futile. Temples devoted to him are often found on hilltops and mountaintops, with wide windows designed to catch the morning light and cleanse everything in its pure glow. 

Taleon: The God of Morning

Taleon is the god of birth and spring. 

Sullivim: The God of Noon

Sullivim is known as the god of growth and plenty, associated with harvests, successful crops, and other bounty. In autumn, feasts are thrown in his name to thank him for the successful harvest. He is also the god of trade and markets, which is why the Sullimsday Market in Baylore is always held on his namesake day. 

Tenenus: The God of Evening

Tenenus is the god of battle and conquest, so warriors are said to have dedicated themselves to Tenenus. Prayers are given to him for loved ones to return safely from battle. 

Samiread: The God of Twilight

Samiread is associated with rivers and other waterways, hence the name of the Samiread River. He's known as the god who plies the waters on his small boat at twilight, guided to people by the candles they set afloat. 

Totoleon: The God of Stars

Totoleon is known as the guide. He's associated with maps and star charts, and many of the best mapmakers in Whitland and Dardensfell are devotees of Totoleon. He's said to be the one who drew out the contours of the earth and threw the stars into the sky. His devotees believe there are secrets written in the stars, and a few have gone the long, winding way of trying to puzzle out his word in the stars rather than simply mapping them. 

Ilkayum: The God of the Moon

Ilkayum is said to watch over those who are neglected by daylight, so he is known as the guardian of beggars, refugees, orphans, exiles, and anyone else who has been cast out. Dedicates to Ilkayum are often charitable workers--they distribute food to the needy and run orphanages. 

Tabanus: The God of Inbetweens (Sunrise and Sunset) 

Tabanus is said to be the one who decides whether someone lives or dies, so he is called upon at the bedside of those who are sick or dying. He is also invoked when a criminal might or might not be killed for their crimes. Many healers are devotees of Tabanus, and "by the grace of Tabanus" is a common way to announce whether someone has lived or died. Sometimes death is considered as much a blessing from Tabanus as life is. 

Darium: The God of Darkness

He's said to be the only god still around during the Dead-span, so people burn bonfires throughout the Dead-span and throw in offerings--especially dried herbs and other dried things that were once alive--to ask him to look after them during the time while the Gods of Sin are closing in. 


Varos was a brutal military leader who ended the Makhori uprisings and is now worshiped as a god himself, an example of extreme devotion to the Nine. 

Followers of Varos are much more austere in their worship and seek to punish heretics and those who do not follow Varos's ways correctly. They also believe in the Nine, but believe following Varos is the way humans were designed to worship their gods. 

The Seventeen Gods of Sin

According to Whitish religious teachings, the magic races were birthed when the men of Whitland were away at war and the Seventeen Gods of Sin descended to earth to seduce the wives of the soldiers. This explains the Whitish distrust and disdain for women--according to their beliefs, they cannot be trusted without being watched by men--and the hatred for the magic races, demon-spawn of the Gods of Sin. 

The Gods of Sin are as follows: 

  • The Destroyer 

  • The Traitor 

  • The Exile

  • The Tanner 

  • The Beggar

  • The Thief

  • The Executioner

  • The Cleaver

  • The Whisperer

  • The Cripple 

  • The Seducer

  • The Hunter

  • The Nameless

  • The Forger 

  • The Scorpion

  • The Plague-Bringer

  • The Spider

bottom of page